PREVIEW: 29th Sept 2019


Welcome once again for the penultimate time here at Mendips for a more autumnal feel to racing. National Series for Brisca F2, more Back 2 Basics Bangers and the return of the awesome Saloon Stock Cars….


It’s the last one of the year and with it lots of things to sort out. Our finale see plenty of stuff up for grabs – the white and yellows championship has 10 tyres up for grabs, current holder 91 Harrison Bryant will be hoping to do the double after winning last year, with plenty of folk ready to go racing.

Track Championship wise, it looks like a prophecy is about to be fulfilled as leader Luke Wrench (560) has a fair lead in his early season proclamation that he wanted to win the track championship. He goes into the chase 12 points ahead of defending joint champ Matt Stoneman (127). Both of those drivers are just some of the National Series drivers here today. Sadly, its more a case of who is not, defending silver roof, and now 3 times World Champion Gordon Moodie (7) has declined to make it 14 silver roofs this year. With him and last year’s runner up Chris Burgoyne (647) absent, it makes this year’s title wide open. Andrew Palmer (606) has been a near regular and Rob Mitchell (905) has been doing more tarmac this year. We should see Jake Walker (298) and Michael Lund (995) join us for a rare trip around the Mendips. A real opportunity for some fast drivers to take a leap up the National series Points Chart!

A day for the spreadsheets, abacusi and slide rules as a healthy dose of maths will abound!


Last year we were spoilt with a double helping of Saloons, and this year there is green shoots of recovery in the Westcountry after a few barren years in terms of turnouts.

Local hopes are pinned on Junior Buster - Bradley Compton Sage (902) who has steadily risen the grades to hit the dizzy heights of star. His infamous dad Buster knew the quick way around here in his F2 back in the day. Last year, Junior took a win, along with Carl Waterfield (360), Aaryn Triggs (620), Ryan Wadling (476) and Deane Mayes (730)

Whether we see the wily old veteran Diggy Smith (116) whose return has returned a near clean sweep of the major titles, sweeping aside all those who came to challenge remains to be seen. Speaking of veterans, Taunton supremo, Phil Powell (199) will be out to be try and beat the boy Joseph (799) who has already had a final this year. Special Rod driver 556 Stuart Garland has won the arrive and drive raffle, set up by Team Sage racing. We also have a very, very special guest booked to be in attendance in the Saloons. Can anyone guess who?


Another chance for one of more successful formula of the season, numbers wise. The Monday night sharabang saw roll overs, injurys and fires, all in a thunderstorm and biblical monsoon! After a heat win for Gary Emery (881) before Dean Quinn (27) took a heat and final double with a car he finished at 6:45pm that night! So far with New points champion 262 Roona getting ready for war at Ipswich, we have 26 Robin Gold Cup Champion riding in the bangers today, as well as joint Rookie Banger Points leader 743 Jake Bond. Another day of fantastic racing awaits for the B2B Bangers!

We are back in a fortnight for the last blast of 2019, the West of England Meeting for the Juniors, Specials and Rookie Bangers – in the words of the late, great Frank Carson, it’ll be a cracker!

Jonny Hoare, News at Ten, Mendips Raceway, Sober
Cheers n’ gone


14 Mike Priddle
660 Becky Pearce
903 Ben Spence


53 Phil Mann
86 Jess Ward
91 Harrison Bryant
275 Dale Edwards
287 Luke Beeson
359 Gary Wrench
517 Harley Cornock
828 Julian Coombes
976 Dan Kent
979 Paul Moss


761 Richard Bowyer
895 Ben Goddard


315 Justin Fisher
325 Ryan Sheehan
542 Steven Gilbert (British Champion)
700 Adam Rubery


24 Jon Palmer
101 Kelvyn Marshall
127 Matt Stoneman
183 Charlie Guinchard
184 Aaron Vaight
298 Jake Walker
560 Luke Wrench
606 Andrew Palmer
618 Ben Lockwood
788 Steve Mallinson
801 Jack Cave
905 Rob Mitchell
995 Michael Lund

B2B Bangers

6 Danny Greening
11 Jake Devine
14 Dave Loader
17 Jason Edgecombe
18 Charlie Edgecombe
23 Clive Crockford
26 Russel Gillingham
44 Jordan O
61 Beth Stevenson
125 Ben Ollis
126 Darren Willis
129 Lee Dalton
147 Millie Ruby
154 Joe Odhams
218 Kevin Plunkett
298 Dave Greening
335 Albert Hughes
455 Shane Kennard
743 Jake Bond
881 Gary Emery


5 Tam Rutherford Blue
23 Max Gunter White
50 Ben Murray Blue
56 George Boult Jnr. Red
80 Matt Buckland White
84 Carl Boswell Blue
130 Chris Durrant White
161 Billy Smith Red
171 Adam O'Dell Irish Open Champion
199 Philip Powell Red
210 Paul Barnes Blue
316 Danny McCluskey Yellow
318 Rob Speak Red
341 Austen Freestone Yellow
399 Cole Atkins Red
444 Kieran Bellringer Yellow
561 Aaron Totham Blue
610 Trent Arthurton Yellow
661 Graeme Shevill Red
799 Joseph Powell Yellow
800 Scott Greenslade Blue
802 Stuart Garland Yellow D/L
902 Bradley Compton-Sage Red
980 Charlie Lobb Blue

crossmenuchevron-down linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram