2012 Dinner and Presentations


A full three course dinner was served, and then there were the traditional presentations of Points Championship and other Championship trophies culminating in the Driver of the Year award.

Guest presenter this year was Incarace and Premier Sports commentator Dave Goddard, ably assisted by Mr Starter Andy Chant, and Trophy Girl Kirsty.


In a surprise move, Graham Bunter was called to the presentation area to announce a Lifetime Achievement Award to popular driver Marcus Goldsmith which took the form of a picture collage of cars spanning his 25 years in the sport, and he was greeted by a spontaneous standing ovation which left him pretty much speechless.

If Marcus was speechless, the Driver of the Year was presented to Tom Davey, 54, who won by a single vote from 2010 winner Sam Trim, with Pete Stanley and Mike Cocks joint third.

The now traditional dvd presentation took place, which took the form of a ‘Best Bits’ compilation, with drivers selecting and commenting on their best moments of 2011, and this was warmly received.

The Captain organised the usual raffle, which raise £150 for FORDS charity.

Cars on show were a Rolls Royce from Weird and White Simon Sparrow, and a Cortina from Paul Barnes-both superbly turned out for the occasion.

Magic Mirror was the live band, which took the guests rocking and rolling through to 1am, but the last guest went to bed at 4.30am!

View and Tag the Mendips Raceway Photo Gallery on FACEBOOK

2012 Dinner Dance - CLICK HERE to see the full set in a slideshow at

With thanks to APWD

crossmenuchevron-down linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram